Valley News -

HUSD Governing Board releases names of scholarship winners


Last updated 5/17/2018 at 9:23am

HEMET – Hemet Unified School District is committed to providing various opportunities to students, so they can be successful. With this goal in mind, HUSD wants to ensure that it celebrates students who achieve their high school diplomas. During the April 17 Governing Board meeting, Board President Ross Valenzuela announced the 23 students who received a Governing Board Scholarship out of the 74 applications the committee received.

Governing Board Trustees Stacey Bailey, Rob Davis, and Ross Valenzuela were on this year’s scholarship committee. The Governing Board was able to award scholarships to 23 students totaling $16,000. Valenzuela, who has been on the scholarship committee for multiple years, said he was happy to see students take advantage of this opportunity to receive money for college expenses.

Stacey Bailey, Governing Board trustee, said she felt fortunate to read the applications. She said the applications were full of adversity, celebrations and challenges students face, and she was excited to read that they were able to work through it all to further their education.

Board Scholarship winners included Dustin Huberty from Alessandro High School, who was awarded $1,000; Javell Funches from ASPIRE Community Day School who was awarded $1,000 and Matthew Gervais, Alissa Kaabe and Hayley Thrapp from Hamilton High School who were awarded $500, $1,000 and $1,000, respectively.

From Helen Hunt Jackson College Prep High School Maria Moreno, Carisma Patrick and Emmalee Rice were all awarded $500 scholarships.

Students recognized at Hemet High School were Renae Cunningham and Michael McDonald who were both awarded $1,000 scholarships, Aaron Fernandes, Madison McComas and Madeline Smith were all awarded $500 scholarships

At Tahquitz High School, Guadalupe Gonzalez, Alejandra Verduzco and Angel Mejia Zavala were all awarded $500 scholarships.

Western Center Academy students Sabrina Gobran and Ariana Pefley were awarded scholarships in the amount of $1,000 and $500, respectively.

Five West Valley High School students were also awarded scholarships. Kaila Nevarez, Shelby Richards and Julio Vilarruel were all awarded $500 scholarships and Raelee Taylor and Aaron Wu were awarded $1,000 scholarships.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017