Translate this page
Southwestern League Athletes of the Year. Back (L to R):  John Baron (Chaparral), Not pictured: Cole Dreschler (Great Oak), Davian Netz (Murrieta Mesa), Kevin Padlo (Murrieta Valley), Parker Yocum (Temecula Valley), Aaron Ruth (Vista Murrieta).Front (L to R): Cheyenne Cogar (Chaparral), Cadie Bates (Great Oak), Emily Buechler (Murrieta Mesa), Paige Virgil (Murrieta Valley), Sarah Spencer (Temecula Valley), Kasey Calderon (Vista Murrieta).
Southwestern League Athletes of the Year. Back (L to R): John Baron (Chaparral), Not pictured: Cole Dreschler (Great Oak), Davian Netz (Murrieta Mesa...
Sunbelt League Athletes of the Year.Back (L to R): Tommy Wilson (Elsinore), Alejandro Castellanos (Heritage), Ricky Ruiz (Lakeside), Ramon Benz (Paloma Valley), Osvaldo Mejia (Perris), Chris Rested (Temescal Canyon).Front: (L to R)  Hailey Price (Elsinore), Nichole Chilson (Heritgae), Kianna Williams (Lakeside), Kailee Smith (Paloma Valley), Summer Traylor (Perris). Not pictured: Ashley Michalski (Temescal Canyon).
Sunbelt League Athletes of the Year. Back (L to R): Tommy Wilson (Elsinore), Alejandro Castellanos (Heritage), Ricky Ruiz (Lakeside), Ramon Benz (Pal...

2013-14 Outstanding Athletes of the Year honored; four scholarships awarded

Eleven Valley Schools Receive Sportsmanship Awards

Monday, May 12th, 2014
Issue 20, Volume 18.
Paul Bandong
Sports Editor
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

The Citrus Belt Area Athletic Directors Association (CBAADA) honored 168 male and female athletes from its 84 member schools and fourteen member leagues this past Monday, May 12th, at an awards breakfast held at Cal Baptist University in Riverside.

Each school selected their Athlete of the Year on the basis of athletic achievement, academic excellence, school and community service, and character. Each Athlete of the Year received a certificate and a patch.

CIF Southern Section Commissioner Rob Wigod gave a short welcome address acknowledging this time to celebrate "’the cream of the crop’ for their hard work, dedication, and example to others."

A new School Sportsmanship Award was announced and eleven Valley schools were among the twenty-three schools inaugural recipients: Chaparral, Great Oak, Heritage, Lakeside, Murrieta Mesa, Murrieta Valley, Paloma Valley, Perris, Temecula Valley, Temescal Canyon, and Vista Murrieta.

In addition to the twenty-four athletes named from the Southwestern and Sunbelt Leagues, four Valley athletes were among the ten recipients of a $500 scholarship awarded by the CBAADA; and for the first time ever, two were from the same school. One hundred and two student-athletes applied for the scholarships.

Jasmine Garcia, a soccer player from Lakeside High, will be majoring in microbiology at San Diego State University. Davis Peralta, from Elsinore High, played three sports: football, basketball, and track. He will be attending the University of Redlands to study physics and mechanical engineering. Sarah Spencer from Temecula Valley High, played volleyball and soccer. She will be studying biology at Colorado Mesa. Parker Yocum, also from Temecula Valley High, will be wrestling and studying law at BYU.

At the conclusion of the awards ceremony, student-athletes were urged to seek out the special people who helped shape their character and helped them achieve their success. "You didn’t get here all by yourself."

Congratulations to this year’s Athletes of the Year!


Chaparral Cheyenne Coger Tennis

John Baron Football, Soccer

Great Oak Cadie Bates Volleyball

Cole Dreschler Soccer

Murrieta Mesa Emily Buechler Cross-country, Soccer, Track

Davian Neitz Football, Basketball, Track

Murrieta Valley Paige Virgil Water Polo

Kevin Padlo Football, Basketball

Temecula Valley Sarah Spencer Volleyball

Parker Yocum Football, Wrestling

Vista Murrieta Kasey Calderon Volleyball

Aaron Ruth Football, Basketball, Baseball


Elsinore Hailey Price Tennis, Water Polo, Track

Tommy Wilson Football, Basketball, Baseball

Heritage Nichole Chilson Tennis, Softball

Alejandro Castellanos Cross-country, Track

Lakeside Kiana Williams Basketball

Ricky Ruiz Soccer, Football

Paloma Valley Kailee Smith Softball

Ramon Benz Football, Soccer, Track

Perris Summer Traylor Cross-country, Soccer, Track

Osvaldo Majia Cross Country, Track

Temescal Canyon Ashley Michalski Volleyball, Basketball, Softball

Chris Rested Wrestling



arrow Be the first to share your opinion on this article!

Add your Comment


Images, Formatting, or HTML is not allowed : plain text only. You may post up to 5 website addresses within your comment.


The Valley News has tightened its' policy regarding comments.
While we invite you to contribute your opinions and thoughts, we request that you refrain from using vulgar or obscene words and post only comments that directly pertain to the specific topic of the story or article.
Comments that are derogatory in nature have a high likelihood for editing or non-approval if they carry the possibility of being libelous.
The comment system is not intended as a forum for individuals or groups to air personal grievances against other individuals or groups.
Please, no advertising or trolling.
In posting a comment for consideration, users understand that their posts may be edited as necessary to meet system parameters, or the post may not be approved at all. By submitting a comment, you agree to all the rules and guidelines described here.
Most comments are approved or disregarded within one business day.

RSS FeedFacebookTwitter

Advertisement for Stellar Solar


Most Commented

Reach Local Customers

The Valley News The Valley News
760-723-7319 - 1588 S. Mission Rd. Suite 200, Fallbrook CA 92028
All contents copyright ©2015
About Us
Earthquake Information
Business Listings
Contact Us
Letter to the Editor
Report a website error
Online Digital Edition
RSS Feeds