Valley News -

By Kim Harris
Managing Editor 

Cities prepare for city council elections by district


Last updated 10/5/2018 at 1:30pm


A map shows Murrieta districts under the city's new by-election voting process.

As the 2018 election cycle kicks into high gear, many residents of southwest Riverside County are looking at a new way to cast their vote.

Thanks to the threat of a lawsuit claiming violations of the California Voting Rights Act, the cities of Murrieta, Temecula, Wildomar and Lake Elsinore all made the move to election by district instead of the at-large system used in previous elections, and that move is causing some confusion for voters.

Under the new by-district systems, residents will only vote for one candidate from their district for the respective councils.


In Murrieta, onl...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments

tomsuttle writes:

Re/Murrieta's T, I have to say I recognize the sad, sad fact that the city is in such a financial bind that T is necessary. When a city has a top tier fire dept, and that FD has to send out begging postcards and litter the landscape with big ad posters to be able to keep up its GREAT work, it's ridiculous. The reason this is necessary go back to incredible failures of two very different people on a council of over a decade ago. I'm embarrassed to say that I'm now forced to vote 'Yes' on T.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 05/17/2019 07:06