Valley News -

By JP Raineri
Sports Editor 

HS Girls' Volleyball: All CIF First Teams announced, Linfield's Hawes named Coach of the Year


Last updated 12/7/2018 at 2:51am

David Canales

Devin Sivertson of Linfield Christian is selected as one of the CIF Southern Section girls' volleyball Players of the Year.

It is truly a small world when two local schools, separated by just a few acres of land, have their most successful girls' volleyball seasons ever. Linfield Christian High School and Temecula Valley High School did what others have tried, but only a few have actually accomplished when it comes to where exactly their winning seasons led.

Linfield's Devin Sivertson was among a handful of names that were selected as CIF Southern Section girls' volleyball players of the year. Sivertson was selected as the Division 7 Player of the Year after helping Linfield Christian capture its first section championship in 32 seasons. The junior setter averaged 8.2 assists per set and also recorded 61 aces. Linfield Christian's Eric Hawes was chosen as the Division 7 Coach of the Year, but it was Temecula Valley that did the unimaginable.

The Lady Golden Bears, who not only won the Southwestern League, stunned Foothill High School Tuesday, Nov. 13, in a dramatic 5-game series during their CIF State Division 1 regional final match-up, then turned around and captured the state title a week later. The CIF recognized the talent from both teams as well as quite a few others as a good number of players from the Inland area earned first-team division honors:

Division 1:

Jordyn Amoy (12), Temecula Valley, Setter

Jayde Harris (12), Vista Murrieta, Outside Hitter

Division 2:

Erin Anderson (12), Santiago, Outside Hitter

Division 5:

Channa Hart (12), Paloma Valley, Middle Blocker

Gabby Hollins (12), Paloma Valley, Outside Hitter

Josie Collier (12), Hemet, OPP

Division 6:

Kylie Coon (12), Beaumont, Outside Hitter

Annette Saenz

Temecula Valley's Jordyn Amoy earned All CIF First-Team division honors.

Shayne Sanders (12), Heritage, Libero

Division 7:

Eric Hawes - Linfield Christian - Division 7 Coach of the Year

Kelly Rausch (12), Linfield Christian, Outside Hitter

Paige Williams (11), Linfield Christian, Middle Blocker

Division 8:

Emily Vaniman (11), Rancho Christian, Middle Blocker

Division 9:

Nia Howes (12), Orange Vista, Outside Hitter

Leeah DeLeon (11), Orange Vista, Libero


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019