Valley News -

By JP Raineri
Sports Editor 

All-Southwestern League boys', girls' basketball, plus girls' water polo teams announced


Last updated 3/8/2019 at 12:46am

Annette Saenz photo

Temecula Valley's Krystian Walton (13), seen here going up against first team selection Tej Johnson of Great Oak, is named the Southwestern League MVP for the 2018-2019 boys' basketball season.

With the high school spring sports season in full bloom, the Southwestern League recently announced the 2018-2019 All-League teams for the winter sports programs. Quite a few of the top local players from the girls' and boys' basketball teams, plus girls' water polo all found themselves on the list.

For the top Southwestern League basketball programs, the Temecula Valley High School Golden Bears boys' team, who not only won this year's league title, but also made it to the quarterfinal game of the CIF-SS Division 2A playoffs, are led by this year's MVP, senior Krystian Walton. The Golden Bears fell to Valencia High School in that quarterfinal match-up.

On the girls' courts, it is Great Oak High School senior Victoria Farris that led all votes for Most Valuable Player. Farris had 435 points scored this season, in just 27 games. Chaparral High School's Zia Rapada was the top scorer for the league (471 points) and earned first team honors this year as a junior. Despite taking second place behind Vista Murrieta High School, Great Oak only suffered two league losses over the course of the season where they went 19-8 overall.

In the water, for girls' water polo, Murrieta Valley High School's Maryn Dempsey garnished MVP honors for the second straight year. Dempsey helped guide the Lady Nighthawks to their 15th consecutive Southwestern league title this year.

The following players were also selected based on their outstanding performances this season in their winter sport:

Boys' Basketball

MVP – Krystian Walton (12) – Temecula Valley

First Team

Tej Johnson (12) – Great Oak

Damien Adame (10) – Great Oak

Devin Fortune (12) – Murrieta Mesa

Nate Jacobsen (12) – Temecula Valley

Josh O'Campo (12) – Temecula Valley

Garrett Schaefer (11) – Temecula Valley 

Second Team 

Mekhi Hill (12) – Vista Murrieta

Trevon Ridley (12) – Vista Murrieta

Jalen Punsalan (10) – Great Oak

Raphael Allen (12) – Temecula Valley

Cameron Rentie (11) – Murrieta Mesa

Jonah Zandi (12) – Murrieta Mesa 

Girls' Basketball

MVP – Victoria Farris (12) – Great Oak 

First Team

Zia Rapada (11) – Chaparral

Ashley Waltz (12) – Great Oak

Jazmine Acedo (12) – Vista Murrieta

Sarah Rich (11) – Vista Murrieta

Natalia Willis (12) – Vista Murrieta 

Second Team 

Ella Duvauchelle (9) – Chaparral

Kaylee Van Betuw (9) – Murrieta Mesa

Meghan Stahl (11) – Murrieta Valley

Madison Packwood (10) – Temecula Valley

Emma Vollmer (12) – Temecula Valley

Jessica Stoll (11) – Vista Murrieta

Girls' Water Polo

MVP – Maryn Dempsey (11) – Murrieta Valley

First Team

Tyanna Schneider (10) – Murrieta Valley

Sophie Sollie (10) – Murrieta Valley

Sila Fedler (10) – Murrieta Valley

Ashley Murray (10) – Murrieta Mesa

Kaylee Pratt (11) – Murrieta Mesa

Emma Johns (11) – Great Oak

Sophie Edsall (12) – Great Oak

Hannah Steffens (12) – Vista Murrieta

Pati Alvarado (12) – Chaparral

Second Team

Isabelle Ritter (12) – Murrieta Valley

Avery Wood (10) – Murrieta Valley

Tessa McCart (12) – Murrieta Mesa

Courtesy photo

For the second straight year Murrieta Valley High School's Maryn Dempsey was named MVP of the Southwestern League for the girls' water polo season.

Ali Davis (11) – Murrieta Mesa

Kielle Leggo (10) – Great Oak

Megan Barrett (11) – Great Oak

Amity Schlachter (12) – Chaparral

Kylie Ankeny (12) – Chaparral

Abbey Armstrong (10) – Temecula Valley

Ally Huber (11) – Temecula Valley

Katelyn Cornejo (10) – Vista Murrieta

Mikaylah Kraal (11) – Vista Murrieta

JP Raineri can be reached by email at [email protected]


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 03/25/2019 09:28